By using Replypad, you agree to our Cookie Policy.

Access rights

What are access rights?

Access rights in Replypad define which data or content users and contacts (customers) can or cannot access.

Access rights for users

Workspace user (team members) access rights determine whether they can manage accounts and contacts, and to which conversations they have access, according to the conversation’s category.

Workspace user (team members) access rights are determined by the following (see below):
  • Accounts and Contacts
  • Conversations

Account and Contacts access rights settings

Determine whether this user has access to the contact and account lists from the Gear icon (settings).
To set up access rights to specific contacts or accounts:
  1. You need to be a workspace administrator.
  2. Click the Gear icon on the top-right corner and select Users from the popup menu.
  3. Click the user you want to update.
  4. Scroll down to Access Rights
  5. Hover over the Accounts & Contacts access rights and click the Change link that appears.
  6. Possible options are:
    • Yes – User has access to account and contact lists and may be able to manage them.
    • No – User cannot see the account or contact lists, but can still work with their conversations.
  7. Change the settings as you wish. Click Save to save your changes.
Note that even when a user has access to the account and contact lists, they may be restricted from editing or deleting, due to insufficient privileges. In order to edit contacts and accounts the user needs to have Admin or Power user privileges.

Conversation access rights settings

You can restrict specific users from accessing conversations according to the conversation’s category.
For example, restrict a user from seeing financial discussions by restricting the “Accounting” category.

To set up access rights by category:
  1. You need to be a workspace administrator.
  2. Click the Gear icon in the top-right corner and select Users.
  3. Select the user you want to restrict, and scroll down to the Access Rights section.
  4. Hover over the Conversations access rights and click the Change link that appears.
  5. You can define access rights per category using the following options:
    • All – Has access to all conversations in the category, including conversations assigned to other users.
    • Restricted – Has access to conversations in this category only assigned or following, or when appearing as To-contact or Cc-recipient.
  6. Change the settings as you wish. Click Save to save your changes.
Restricted users will still have access to any conversation they’ve been invited to, i.e. added as followers or assigned to, or if they appear as the “To” contact for the conversation, regardless of its category and access rights.

Access rights for customers

Contacts (usually your customers) that have been defined in your workspace can login into Replypad and see their conversations. You can restrict their access to conversations using:

Account access rights

Account access rights determine which conversation will each contact that belongs to this account will see when they visit the workspace.

To update the Account’s access rights:
  1. To change the access rights, you should be a workspace administrator.
  2. Click the Gear icon on the top-right corner and choose Accounts.
  3. This will display the complete accounts list.
  4. Click the account you want to change
  5. Hover over the Access Rights field and click Change when it appears.
  6. Choose between the options:
    • Theirs only – Only conversations where the contact appears as the “To” contact, are accessible.
    • All – All conversations of this account are accessible to the contact.
Setting up the account access rights will determine behavior for all contacts linked to this account. You can also set up access rights per contact to restrict a specific contact.

Contact access rights

The access rights per contact means which conversation will the specific contact be able to view when visiting the workspace in Replypad.
These settings will override the access rights that are defined in the account level

To update the contact access rights:
  1. To change the access rights, you should be a workspace administrator.
  2. Click the Gear icon on the top-right corner and choose Contacts.
  3. This will display the complete contact list.
  4. Click the contact you want to change
  5. Hover over the Access Rights and click Change when it appears.
  6. Choose between the options:
    • Use Account Default – Take the settings from the account (this is the default behavior)
    • All – All Conversations of the Account are accessible to this Contact
    • Restricted – Only Conversations of this Account that link to this Contact are accessible
You can also set up account access rights to determined default behavior for all contacts linked to this account. Note that setting up the contact access rights will override account access rights settings.
Previous: Privileges
Next: Workspace owner